It isn't Tom Ford, but damn if it isn't good enough.

For awhile I've wanted the Tom Ford cardigan from QoS. It is, in my opinion, such a perfectly designed piece turnback cuffs and all. So today I was bumbling around on the John Smedley website and found this:

http://www.johnsmedley.com/us/mens/shop-by-collection/imperial-cashmere/aw13-sherwood-in-black

I was gonna get the N. peal sweater but any money I had saved for that is going straight to this.

Cheers.

Comments

• JMac88JMac88 Posts: 279MI6 Agent
    It's a beautiful item no doubt. As much as I love John Smedley (I own 4 pullovers and 2 scarves), I find $450 CDN a bit steep just for a cardigan.

But I guess it's still far better than whatever stratospheric price the Tom Ford goes for on Ebay these days :)) . I have no experience with the N. Peal, but it's hard to go wrong with a John Smedley item.
  • Batman007Batman007 Posts: 36MI6 Agent
    Well it's $1,800 for Tom Ford vs $450 for John Smedley. That pretty much blows it out of the water for me.

There's also another cardigan called the Dover which has patch pockets on the front along with the shawl collar.
  • FlightyFlighty Southampton , EnglandPosts: 200MI6 Agent
    Good frugal find! I may go for the Dover and swap out the horn buttons for leather!
    Last rat standing.
  • minigeffminigeff EnglandPosts: 7,884MI6 Agent
    $450 for a cardigan is being frugal? :))
    'Force feeding AJB humour and banter since 2009'
    Vive le droit à la libre expression! Je suis Charlie!
    www.helpforheroes.org.uk
    www.cancerresearchuk.org
    minigeff wrote:
    I suppose it depends how deep your pockets are, for me it's nicer than my M&S ultra frugal but a higher quality! £250? Not that bad!
    Last rat standing.
    Flighty wrote:
    minigeff wrote:
    I suppose it depends how deep your pockets are, for me it's nicer than my M&S ultra frugal but a higher quality! £250? Not that bad!

Aye, I guess the depth of the pocket does make a difference.