Do We Bond Fans Celebrate Gratutious Violence?

chrisisallchrisisall Western Mass, USAPosts: 9,061MI6 Agent
As a Bond fan from age 11, I've always really dug when Bond dispatches some evil POS. But in real life, even though I'm a martial artist, I'm quite the peacenik. I hate police brutality, am for tougher gun laws, and I've never actually used my Samurai sword on anything besides hedges.

In real life violence is not fun. It hurts, it can lead to permanent damage & death... so why is it 'fun' to see Bond toss a dude off the deep end?

Are we all just arrested adolescents transfixed by a power fascination?
Or is it simply an adult fantasy & catharsis?

In a utopian & peaceful world, would Bond fight boredom? ?:)
Dalton & Connery rule. Brozz was cool.
#1.TLD/LTK 2.TND 3.GF 4.GE 5.DN 6.FYEO 7.FRWL 8.TMWTGG 9.TWINE 10.YOLT/QOS

Comments

• LexiLexi LondonPosts: 3,000MI6 Agent
    I think Bond represents good vs evil, and for me, that means having to kill someone.

Our British culture (where arms are not a right of passage) the license to kill was something very different (when the Bond franchise began) and somewhat 'hero like' - unfortuneatly, these days it doesn't really have the kudos it once had.

I abhor violence (for violence sake) but it doesn't stop me watching violent movies... although it's not my genre of choice... and I really dislike horror - I just can't be dealing with the graphic shock. I think I managed up to saw 3... before I stopped.

Bond, to me, represents the type of violence needed to keep my country safe and I wouldn't describe it as violence, more a sense of purpose and 'good' - some might call it double standards... as it's still killing, but as I'm from a military background I would be very hypocritical if I didn't stand for protection against 'evil' in whatever forms that takes.
    She's worth whatever chaos she brings to the table and you know it. ~ Mark Anthony
  • HigginsHiggins GermanyPosts: 16,618MI6 Agent
    Lexi wrote: