Attention Bond fans! I need your help/opinions!

Revolver66Revolver66 Melbourne, AustraliaPosts: 470MI6 Agent
Hey guys :) I'm currently in my last semester of uni and would greatly appreciate your help!

I am doing a subject called: Screen Studies, and my next assignment is a genre analysis. Being a big Bond fan I of course decided to use the Bond films as my example, however I'm in a bit of a pickle and am need of opinions and feedback from fellow Bondians. An essential part of the essay is how I classify the films themselves. and this is where I am in a dilemma. Do you think that The Bond films are a sub-genre of the action film/thriller? Or do you think that the films can be classified as a genre of their own? If you lean towards either of these, why? What examples? If you think they are a genre all on their own then why? And what specific elements do they have that other films don't have? What the quintessential elements of a Bond film that makes it a Bond film?

Sorry guys I don't mean it sound like I want you to do my essay for me :)) This is merely one aspect of the assignment, and most of these questions are ones that I've come up with. Either way I would love some of your opinions of this one. At the moment I'm tempted to say that they are more of a sub-genre of the action flick, but in a way I think it also could be argued that the series invented the action flick and a lot of the conventions of that particular genre. Anyways...thoughts anyone?

Comments

• MilleniumForceMilleniumForce LondonPosts: 1,214MI6 Agent
    I'd class them as Action/Adventure/Thriller.
    1.LTK 2.AVTAK 3.OP 4.FYEO 5.TND 6.LALD 7.GE 8.GF 9.TSWLM 10.SPECTRE 11.SF 12.MR 13.YOLT 14.TLD 15.CR (06) 16.TMWTGG 17.TB 18.FRWL 19.TWINE 20.OHMSS 21.DAF 22.DAD 23.QoS 24.NSNA 25.DN 26.CR (67)
  • Absolutely_CartAbsolutely_Cart NJ/NYC, United StatesPosts: 1,740MI6 Agent
    They master the genre of action/adventure and spy films but I wouldn't call them a genre of their own.