Last film seen...

Comments

• BarbelBarbel ScotlandPosts: 36,053Chief of Staff

Part of the reason "She" looks so good is that it shared a lot of crew with the original "King Kong". Some of the sets were redressed from that wonderful film.

• caractacus pottscaractacus potts Orbital communicator, level 10Posts: 3,906MI6 Agent

number24 said:

She (1935)

She's a good one, though the characters actual name is Ayesha. I have this dvd in my archives, an impulse purchase from a bookstore because I'm a fan of the author H Rider Haggard. Youve reminded me I need to watch it again. whether Spielberg and Lucas were specifically inspired by this film, Indiana Jones would seem to generally borrow from the recurring imagery of Haggard's books, most of which are about European explorers travelling off the edge of the map and discovering lost civilizations where magic rules.

@Number24 you may be interested in Haggard: the few of his books that arent variations of the Lost World formula are modern day attempts to write Viking saga! Eric Brighteyes. and The Wanderer's Necklace are the two I've read, there may be others.

• Napoleon PluralNapoleon Plural LondonPosts: 10,238MI6 Agent

She was remade in the 60s with Ursula Andress in the lead role. Not really so eerie in colour of course, and with Bernard Cribbins in the supporting cast, nothing against him but you kind of get the idea. I alway recall the original, which is never shown on telly these days.

"This is where we leave you Mr Bond."

Roger Moore 1927-2017
  • Number24Number24 NorwayPosts: 21,699MI6 Agent

Interesting. I googled "Eric Brighteyes" and was initially put off by the horns and wings on people's helmets, but then I remembered She isn't exactly historically correct either.

NP: She (1935) is eerie in colour. I know because I just watched the colourized version. Maybe I'll check out Ursula Andress' version of She some time.