Why is the DB5 Left hand Drive?

JayskiJayski Munich, GermanyPosts: 82MI6 Agent
I watched the movie for a second time and noticed the DB5 5 is left hand drive, kinda disappointing, but then again, at least that car was in the movie :)

Comments

• Klaus HergescheimerKlaus Hergescheimer Posts: 332MI6 Agent
    Jayski,

are you by any chance the same Jayski who owns and operates the ESPN-supported NASCAR news site, www.jayski.com? I would assume not, but it's interesting that one of your early posts is on the topic of the DB5. ;)
  • JayskiJayski Munich, GermanyPosts: 82MI6 Agent
    no sorry, but its a shame he got the url before i did. I am actually an automotive designer, my site being www.jbdesign.ca, and i'm a huge car guy/bond fan, and damn i love that car :)
  • Moonraker 5Moonraker 5 Ayrshire, ScotlandPosts: 1,821MI6 Agent
    edited November 2006
    Jayski wrote:
    I watched the movie for a second time and noticed the DB5 5 is left hand drive, kinda disappointing, but then again, at least that car was in the movie :)
    Weird one that... As a former British colony the Bahamas drive on the left. However, I can only assume (never having visited the Bahamas myself) that the Bahamas are lumped in with the "North American" market for manufacturers, which means most if not all cars sold will be left hand drive (Bond's Mondeo and the Range Rover Sport he 'valet parks' are both left hand drive, though are clearly driven on the left).

Given that the DB5 pre-dates Bahamian independence, however, and that as the UK was one of the biggest car producers in the world and dominated the markets of its colonies and dependencies (with right hand drive cars) back then, the steering wheel being on the wrong side is rather inexplicable. (If it's a native Bahamian, or ex-British registered car, that is.)
    unitedkingdom.png
  • Wesson_SmithWesson_Smith Posts: 15MI6 Agent
    Ya know - Im wondering if the sequence has been reverse printed for some reason...