Question for vintage car nuts

LoeffelholzLoeffelholz The United States, With LovePosts: 8,992Quartermasters
edited August 2007 in Off Topic Chat
Any motorheads out there?

Just what could one do to a car in the late '30s-early '40s to get maximum speed out of it? Were there such things as superchargers in those days? What modifications could be made to the engine? Or to the suspension?

I'm referring specifically to a 1935 Ford Roadster, with an early-era V8...

Thanks in advance! {[]
Check out my Amazon author page! Mark Loeffelholz
"I am not an entrant in the Shakespeare Stakes." - Ian Fleming
"Screw 'em." - Daniel Craig, The Best James Bond EverTM

Comments

• The Sly FoxThe Sly Fox USAPosts: 467MI6 Agent
    Well, I'm no mechanic, but I believe many of the performance mods on today's cars can be applied to vintage ones. With that kind of engine, most likely it would take a supercharger. I know superchargers are sometimes applied to '70s vehicles. You also might be able to put a bigger intake on it so that it could get more air into the engine, and thus more power (this is commonly applied to average cars like some Toyotas and Hondas today as a simple way to boost the power). Please note that I have no idea how to do any of these things, I just read stuff... :D

Of course, I'm just saying what you might be able to do with it today. As for what they had to work with back then? I have no idea. :)

Does this happen to be a car you own (pictures!!!! :D )?
  • Bill TannerBill Tanner "Spending the money quickly" iPosts: 261MI6 Agent