Pulsar P2

Have just again watched "Live and Let Die" I have decided to bring my P2 out of the closet and yes it lid up 5:48 (just kidding).
In the early 70's I was a store manager for a Birks store in Canada (Calgary AB.) and had an opportunity to pre purchase one of the first Pulsars. It was by the way the same price as the stainless, Rolex Submariner. Being a dedicated JB fan it hurt like hell to break protocall (and the bank) and buy the P2 over the oyster.
However when "Live and Let Die" hit the screen and I saw my watch as big as ever, I new right there that I had made the right decision.
My first oyster came to be some 25 years later, I bought the two tone Sub. Now I should probally go out and get an Omega.
My P2 is stainless, model #2900, serial #66891A, with it's magnet still intact.
I wonder what this true classic is worth to a collector today?
HPLP0.jpg

Comments

• thespyboys11thespyboys11 Lindenwold,NJPosts: 1,845MI6 Agent
    Peter,
    After watching "LIVE & LET DIE" I saw, in the credits, that the watch used was a Pulsar.
    I walked out of the theatre and across the street to a very prestigious jewelry store (Baily, Banks & Biddle) and bought the watch.

It was very innovative and I constantly had people staring at it as it was not something anyone had ever seen before.

I had a lot of girls asking if they could push by button...which I, of course, allowed them to do so!! LOL!!

I have to say, however, that it was not a very precise watch as I had to have it repaired 3 or 4 times (too many girls pushing it I suppose) The salesman at the store explained they were having a LOT of problems with the Pulsar watches and they simply popped out the entire module and replaced it with a new one. I saw him throw my broken module into a box that must have had about 25 other broken modules.

I still have mine to this day and it does work. Guess I'll take it out and wear it again for old times sake.
    Ed
    TheSpyBoys.com