Gardner Books

hthomashthomas Philadelphia, PAPosts: 833MI6 Agent
What is the general view towards the John Gardner novels? I am new to reading Bond books. I am just finishing TMWTGG and looking forward to Solo next week. Just curious as to see if the Gardner's are worth reading.
instagram.com/dressinglikebond

Comments

• ThunderpussyThunderpussy Behind you !Posts: 63,792MI6 Agent
    Just my opinion, but I enjoyed the Gardner novels. Some have weak
    stories and a couple seem very similar. My favourite is For special services.
    I'd rate his work as better than R Benson's efforts.
    "I've been informed that there ARE a couple of QAnon supporters who are fairly regular posters in AJB."
  • Sir MilesSir Miles The Wrong Side Of The WardrobePosts: 26,764Chief of Staff
    Gardner's books are a mixed bag...look through this forum and you'll find a number of threads that discuss his books.
    YNWA 97
  • The Domino EffectThe Domino Effect Posts: 3,632MI6 Agent
    I enjoyed his first ones, then kind of lost interest towards the end to be honest. I haven't re-read any since they were first published which is a long time ago, but I'd certainly give them a go in chronological order if I was you.

That said, if you're interested in continuation novels, I can highly recommend "Colonel Sun" by Robert Markham (aka Kingsley Amis). Kingsley Amis was not only a great author in his own right, but he was a friend of Fleming's and the book was written very soon after the latter's death, so the flavour is very accurate. You can pick-up a battered paperback on the internet for just a few pounds/dollars and I'd highly recommend it.
  • David SchofieldDavid Schofield EnglandPosts: 1,528MI6 Agent