18 year Macallan in Spectre.

2»

Comments

• IanTIanT Posts: 573MI6 Agent
    Well, as daft as it seems, you have to make yourself like single malts. Start with a relatively inexpensive brand and just keep drinking small amounts of it. When you get past the throat burning and the stomach fire, you'll start appreciating the taste and the sensation of drinking it.

It's difficult to describe, but you're not so much as drinking a good single malt, you're experiencing it.

And whatever you do, don't mix it with anything!!!
  • DB6DB6 EnglandPosts: 1,196MI6 Agent
    RedDawn289 wrote:
    So given that I would like to get into drinking single malts where do I start. I think it's a acquired taste that I haven't acquired as of yet. Keep in mind give my taste isn't acquired price should be put into consideration.

I'm far from an expert but Speyside whisky's are typically 'lighter' (I still don't drink peaty whiskies - just my preference); something like Glenmorangie is a good start point. You may also like Haig Club which has a very smooth and 'accessible' taste (also mentioned in Flemings 'Diamonds are Forever' I think so it's even Bond linked!)

Again, tastes vary; some will have it straight, some with a splash (and I mean a splash) of water and some with a single ice cube. Just don't use any mixers.........
    My name has changed! I’m no longer dufus......now I’m DB6
  • LlafyksLlafyks Posts: 237MI6 Agent
    edited February 2016
    RedDawn289 wrote:
    So given that I would like to get into drinking single malts where do I start. I think it's a acquired taste that I haven't acquired as of yet. Keep in mind give my taste isn't acquired price should be put into consideration.

Go into any good whisky shop and explain your predicament and ask for some advice. They will normally give you a taste of some of their recommendations or they may have a whisky of the month for you to try as well.