Any parts of the film you genuinely dislike?

124»

Comments

• heartbroken_mr_draxheartbroken_mr_drax New Zealand Posts: 2,073MI6 Agent
    Wadsy wrote:
    The only problems I had with AVTAK's production were the stunt doubles throughout Paris and literally the first half of the movie, as I mentioned earlier which could be lazy directing but I'm no expert on how movies are made.

I agree that LTK has much better action sequences. They're more modern and helped by a keen Dalton. But I think that this is at the expense of the other scenes - so on balance - doesn't really make much of a difference in the overall scheme of things.
    Wadsy wrote:
    Are you able to elaborate on what you said regarding AVTAK having clearer production values? Maybe I've missed something.

I think it's the globe-trotting, definitely.
    San Francisco is wonderfully shot and getting access to the estate for such a long time must've been pricey.

Sets are not that well designed though. Wish Ken Adam was still there. Not megalomaniac-ey enough although the blimp's nice and they try to make it as realistic as possible with the offices and such so it must've been hard to squeeze in such sets.

I think you get Peter Lamont's understated, fine touch. Every set looks like all details are considered - while they might not be Ken Adam-ish in scope - you get the same level of care seen in OP where the sets are realistic, not OTT. Some examples:

- The escape boat.
    - M's office is stunning - again.
    - The restaurant in Paris.
    - The Chantilly interiors.
    - The hidden stable.
    - The hut tub in China town.
    - Stacey's kitchen.
    - The city hall offices.
    - The blimp interior.
    - The mine.