The General UK Politics (Past and Present) Discussion Thread

Comments

• BarbelBarbel ScotlandPosts: 36,501Chief of Staff
    Well, there go several Bond movies! :#
  • ThunderpussyThunderpussy Behind you !Posts: 63,792MI6 Agent
    I have several friends who have tried to get me to
    Watch The Lord of the rings, and Game of thrones, but
    I'm not interested in sword and sorcery.
    "I've been informed that there ARE a couple of QAnon supporters who are fairly regular posters in AJB."
  • ChriscoopChriscoop Belize Posts: 10,449MI6 Agent
    I was a star wars child, loved the original trilogy, highly disappointed in the films that followed (though the scores were quite good)
    Never got star trek on any level.
    TP I studied Tolkien and read all his books, the films were great but I'd swerve the Hobbit films, they simply come accross as money makers, and offer nothing new. The first 3 films are good stuff though and Tolkien based his books on a narrative on the United Kingdoms history.
    It was either that.....or the priesthood
  • Number24Number24 NorwayPosts: 21,839MI6 Agent
    I can also tell you Game of Thrones is sword and sorcery for people who normally don't like sword and sorcery.
    Number24 wrote:
    I can also tell you Game of Thrones is sword and sorcery for people who normally don't like sword and sorcery.
    Like Conan with Arnie?
    Did Conan o'brien do a film with Arnie ? ;)
    "I've been informed that there ARE a couple of QAnon supporters who are fairly regular posters in AJB."
    Bride Of Barbel is a huge sword & sorcery fan, and loves Game Of Thrones. We've watched it through twice, and she's currently reading the books.
    I'm totally with you Chriscoop re LOTR, although I think the Hobbit movies are not as bad as you think. Sure, they're not a patch on LOTR but they do have their moments especially in the extended versions.
    Extended version ? .... are the hobbits taller in that one ?