Db5 Aston Martin replica project 2013

Comments

• minigeffminigeff EnglandPosts: 7,884MI6 Agent
    DB5Fan wrote:
    I'm new to this thread but have read each post since the beginning. Obviously we all share a passion for not just any Aston Martin but the DB5 Model. Owning one is simply out of the question for many, but perhaps a good replica with modern underpinnings may not be beyond us. Consider this, Triumph motorcycles sell thousands of new Bonneville models (made in Indonesia ironically) allowing owners all the pleasure of a classically styled machine without the headaches of owning the original models from the 50's, 60's and 70's. In the early 80's a company called "Triple C" built fiberglass bodied E-Type replica's with space frame chassis and modern (at that time) suspension. All the aesthetic pleasures of E-type ownership without the headaches.

Reading the threads its clear that Aston Martin take a far less relaxed approach to the construction of DB5 replicas, and rightly so. However, I think its clear that everyone who has posted here, is not interested in making any kind of profit, we simply enjoy the shape of a DB5 and would love to own a real one, or perhaps a very good facsimile for our own pleasure.

Somebody here said that making a mould would cost in the region of $7,000 US. why not form a consortium of folks, each willing to contribute an equal amount of money towards the construction of a super high quality and accurate mould of the DB5. With the mould made, members of the consortium (limited to say to 20 members) would have the right to additionally finance the construction of one shell, minus any interior or exterior trim or windows etc. Shipping would be an additional cost borne by each individual. With the completion of bodyshell No20, the moulds would be destroyed (under supervision, with an affidavit of destruction signed and witnessed).