Random Chat!!! (All Welcome!)

Comments

• ThunderpussyThunderpussy Behind you !Posts: 63,792MI6 Agent
    You don't even have to be a good writer , look at 50 shades of grey! :D
    Although happily a few on AJB have written some great books. ..... My
    Own attempt ( which I told a a lady in a Scottish café ) About a young fat
    Junior wizard Harold Porker , never really got off the ground. ;)
    "I've been informed that there ARE a couple of QAnon supporters who are fairly regular posters in AJB."
  • IanFryerIanFryer Posts: 327MI6 Agent
    Coincidentally I'm doing final corrections on my new book right now. Some of it is material I wrote over a year ago, and I'm relieved to report that it still reads pretty well.
  • IanFryerIanFryer Posts: 327MI6 Agent
    Number24 wrote:
    I sometimes say to kids who say they're bored: "Do you think there would be Harry Potter if JK Rowling never had felt bored?"

That's a really good line. I'm a writer and I often get emails from people asking how they can become writers too. I tell them to read lots and write even more and never ever stop. You'd be amazed how many people respond that they never really read and that don't write much either!

That is excellent advice. I wrote tons for fanzines, after a period writing for a movie magazine. It kept me writing and (much to my surprise) got me spotted by a publisher. Starting a blog is another route to getting into the swing of writing regularly for an audience and finding your own voice.
  • GrindelwaldGrindelwald Posts: 1,296MI6 Agent
    Im in L.A now , gonna see some movie locations :)
  • Number24Number24 NorwayPosts: 21,815MI6 Agent
    edited August 2017
    I have been following the news from Texas, especially Huston. The destruction from the hurricane are huge, but I'm impressed by the rescue and support by ordinary citizens. I hope no more people will die and everyone has a house again soon.
  • GrindelwaldGrindelwald Posts: 1,296MI6 Agent